what is the eligibility criteria for it?

3 Answers
1-3 of  3
3 Answers
  • To appear for the UPSC Civil Services Exam, candidates must be Indian citizens aged 21-32 (with certain age relaxations for specific categories). They must hold at least a bachelor's degree. The exam consists of two compulsory papers, the Civil Services Preliminary Examination (objective-type) and the Civil Services Main Examination (written and interview). The Main Examination includes nine papers, out of which two are qualifying (Indian language and English) and the remaining seven are merit-based covering a range of subjects such as history, geography, polity, and more. Successful candidates then face a personality test (interview).

  • Eligibility Criteria:-
    1. Nationality:-
    Applicant must be a citizen of India.
    Applicant must be a citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan.
    Applicant must be a Tibetan Refugee who came to India before January 1, 1962, to be settled permanently in India.
    Applicant must be person of Indian Origin who has migrated from Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Myanmar, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam, Zaire, or Zambia with an intention of permanently settling in India.
    2. Educational Qualification:-
    Applicant applying for the Civil Services 2020 exam is required to fulfil the following criteria:
    Applicants must hold a Bachelor’s Degree from any of the recognized universities.
    Applicants who have appeared for the qualifying exam and are expecting results. Those applicants who are yet to appear for the qualifying examination are also eligible for the Preliminary Examination. Such applicants have to produce proof of passing the said examination along with the application for the Main Examination.
    Applicants with professional and technical qualifications recognized by the Government or its equivalent are also eligible to apply.
    Applicants who have passed the final year of MBBS or any Medical Examination but are yet to complete the internship can also appear for the Main Examination. However, they must submit a Certificate from the concerned University that they have passed the final specialized medical examination.
    3. Age Limit:-
    The applicant should be a minimum of 21 years and maximum 32 years old as on August 01, 2020. The upper age limit prescribed above is relaxed for the following applicants.
    5 Years – Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST)
    3 Years – Other Backward Classes (OBC)
    3 Years – Defence Services personnel
    5. Years – ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have concentrated at least 5 years Military Service as on August 01, 2020.
    5 Years in the case of ECOs/SSCOs.
    10 Years – Blind, deaf-mute, and orthopedically handicapped persons
    5 Years – In the case of ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of duty of five years of Military Service as on 1st August 2019.
    4. Number of attempts:-
    The maximum number of attempts is in effect since 1984:
    For General Category Applicants: 6 attempts (Up to 32 Years)
    Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Applicants (SC/ST): No Limits (Up to 37 Years)
    Other Backward Classes (OBC): 9 attempts (Up to 35 Years)
    Physically handicapped applicant – 9 attempts for general and OBC, while unlimited for SC/ST category.

    ·         Paper I tests the candidate's knowledge on current events, history of India and Indian national movement, Indian and world geography, Indian polity and governance, economic and social development, environmental ecology, biodiversity, climate change and general science.  
    ·         Paper II tests the candidates' skills in comprehension, interpersonal skills, communication, logical reasoning, analytical ability, decision making, problem solving, basic numeracy, data interpretation, English language comprehension skills and mental abilities.
    ·         Paper A- The examinations took place with different languages as per chosen by the candidate.(300 MARKS)
    ·         Paper B-ENGLISH-(300 MARKS)
    ·         PAPER 3-General Studies I (Indian heritage and culture, history and geography of the world and society)- (250 MARKS)
    ·         Paper 4-General Studies II (Governance, constitution, polity, social justice and international relations)- 250 marks
    Paper 5-General Studies IV(ethics, integrity and aptitude)-250 marks
    ·         Paper 6& 7- 2 PAPERS selected by the candidate. Per subject-250 marks-500 marks
    ·         The last exam is the personality test or face to face interview where the candidates are being judged by the other person on the basis of their interest and mental activeness& current affairs and knowledge.
    The candidate age should lie between 21-32 yrs of age. The degree the candidate should be holding should be from a reputed university as well as recognized or registered universities.
    The number of times a candidate may attempt the exam is limited as follows:_
    ·         General category candidates-6
    ·         OBC category candidates-9
    ·         SC/ST Candidates-unlimited
    A citizen of NEPAL OR BHUTAN can appear for this exam. And the person who has the nationality of INDIA and is shifting from other countries permanently to INDIA can give this exam.


Practice Mock Test